MG ZR Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im kinda new to modifying cars, ive pretty much just kept them bog standard, well certainly under the bonnet at least, ive just made cosmetic changes, like customised the interior and stuff.

Exactly what benefits would I get out of putting a K&N Filter on my ZR? and what is involved? and what would it cost to get it done professionally? (Not wanting any bodged jobs that will fuck up the car!)

Oh, and does it void the warranty?

Ive heard quite a few people talking about them..... never paid much interest before lol. :up:

G

·
Open filters will give you a slight increase at the top end, lots of induction roar but will suffere from heatsoak so will loose power at the lower end and suffer from hesitation.

A closed induction kit will give you an increase in power as long as it is coupled with a decent exhaust and has had the air feed routed correctly. If it has a poor feed or is badly routed, it can actually decrease power.

A panel filter (ie one that keeps the standard intake system but replaces the paper filter with a 'preformance' filter) can give some quite decent results as well over a standard set up.

There is a lot of myth, conjecture and BS around concerning filters and the claimed HP increase. Ask 10 people with different filters and you will get 10 different answers.

I have had a panel filter, and open induction filter and am now running a closed induction set up. Both the open filter and the standard panel filter were roilling road tested on thwe same car on the same day on the same rollers byt he same tester. The panel was better than the open filter especially at the top end, but the open filter gave some good results in the mid range. I have yet to test the closed system but I am expecting about the same or slightly better than the panel.

·
Registered
605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·