MG ZR Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about to upgrade my I.C.E system, and am worried that the additional power I require could have a great impact on my battery.
I have come to understand that if I am using 400 watts an additional 400 watts is lost in heat and such. Is this understanding correct?
I worked out that 5 speakers, [email protected] [email protected] = 1550x2 (power loss through heat) = 3100w + 400w (inverter, fans and lighting)= total of 3500 watts.
I am really unsure of the heat factor. If this is the case then It will need a 300amp fuse. If I was to take the supply stright to the boot and I'd need to use 0 gauge cable. I am new to auto electrics and audio systems so plz go easy on me.
I also have some really lame questions to follow but they can wait.
What do u guys think of JBL speakers and subs?
Cheers guys, any help will do.
Oh 1 last thing. I also got a 3 farad capacitor, not sure what power usage it will have on batt, instructions r rubbish.[/b]

·
Registered
326 Posts
simplyuniqueperformance said:
I have come to understand that if I am using 400 watts an additional 400 watts is lost in heat and such. Is this understanding correct?
no that would mean ure amp is only 50% efficent most audio class a/b amps are 70 -75% efficent and up.

I worked out that 5 speakers, [email protected] [email protected] = 1550x2 (power loss through heat) = 3100w + 400w (inverter, fans and lighting)= total of 3500 watts.
1. the power stated by the amplifier is the output power with all the losses already added in for example a 300w amplifier is really a 400w amplifier with a 75% efficeny rating hence 300w output. (i think anyway)

2. the power rating given on speakers are max power to find the real power (average/rms) u half the max power to get the peak power then divide by root 2 to get rms power. havent got a calculator so u do the math...